sad

How many times I lost weeks of code because of AirCode. It’s enough. I quit.

I’ve been playing with Codea for 4 years and haven’t used AirCode once. Well maybe once when it first came out just to see how it worked. All my coding is done on the iPad with the built in keyboard. Codea is too much fun to quit using it.

@moechofe2, sorry to hear that. But, to echo what @dave1707 said, Codea is too good to walk away from it. Pretty much all software in existence has bugs… :slight_smile:

If you prefer to edit code on a computer, you may want to consider some form of source control. You’ll never lose your work again, once your master it. There are various options for Codea, ranging from simple Dropbox backups to using git clients such as Working Copy or codea-scm. Give it a try!

Codea’s hardware keyboard support is good too. Remember since iOS 9 (or was it 8?) you can hold down command key in any application to see a popover listing all the keyboard shortcuts. You can use the tab key to cycle through the autocomplete suggestions that Codea gives.

The only time I ever lost data to aircode was when the tab had an error in it (code wouldn’t parse) and then swapped tabs. Is that you’re problem?

Yes @TechDojo, that was my problem. Sometimes, when I had an error, nor AceEditor or Codea tell me. Then If I hit refresh, the tabs are not synchronized and sometimes the tabs simply disappears. In my last case, it was 4 tabs of two months of code. I’m sad because:

1. Codea allow to save code with error using the built-in editor but not with Air Code.
  2. The other code editor I’m using as a developer (Vim) released 24 years ago, knows how to never delete user’s code. But Codea don’t.

You right @juce, Codea is too good to twalk away. I just try Pythonista, a really great tool but not ideal to make games.
Also, IMHO using a version control is not a good solution to try fixing bugs.