Codea Runtime: build fails with 'could not read CFBundleIdentifier'

Hello all,

Codea newbie here: loving it so far.

I tried to build a standalone app using the Runtime Library, and I followed the instructions in README.md precisely. However the build fails with the following error message:

error: could not read CFBundleIdentifier from Info.plist (null)
Command builtin-productPackagingUtility failed with exit code 1

I changed CFBundleIdentifier in CodeaTemplate/Info.plist to com.karanvasudeva.${PRODUCT_NAME:rfc1034identifier} and the Summary tab in CodeaTemplate.xcodeproj correctly reflects Bundle Identifier as com.karanvasudeva.Test where ‘Test’ is the default Product Name.

I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong. Is the incorrect Info.plist being picked up by Xcode, or have I not set up Bundle ID correctly?

Thanks
Karan

Could be an old Xcode version. Which version of Xcode are you using?

Xcode Version 4.3.2 (4E2002) on OS X 10.7.3.

OK, I fixed it. This is probably an Xcode bug.

I renamed CodeaTemplate/Info.plist to CodeaTemplate/CodeaTemplate-Info.plist and in .xcodeproj → Targets → ‘Test’ → Build Settings → Packaging changed the ‘Info.plist File’ value to ‘CodeaTemplate/CodeaTemplate-Info.plist’. Then I cleaned the project, restarted Xcode and rebuilt, but I still got the same error, i.e. could not read CFBundleIdentifier from Info.plist, which indicates that Xcode is still looking in a file called Info.plist, not CodeaTemplate-Info.plist.

On a hunch I added “CFBundleIdentifier
com.karanvasudeva.${PRODUCT_NAME:rfc1034identifier}” to CodeaTemplate/Project.codea/Info.plist, and the build went through successfully. It might mean something that this Info.plist appears before CodeaTemplate-Info.plist in the Xcode Project navigator view, so Xcode is looking for CFBundleIdentifier there.