Why one callback works and the next fails on self reference

Hi All,

I’m very new to Lua and I’m trying to understand this issue. Can someone explain why this fails, or even better, show me what would be the right way to do this. The execution fails as per comment in Class A

Class Main

function setup()
    a = A()
end

function touched(touch)
    a.b:callA()
end

Class A

A = class()

function A:init()
    self.b = B(self.aDo)
    self.c = C(self.b.bDo)
end

function A:aDo()
    print("a did!")
    self.c:callB() -- fails with "attempt to index local 'self' (a nil value)"
end

Class B

B = class()

function B:init(callback)
    self.callback = callback
end

function B:callA()
    self.callback()
end

function B:bDo()
    print("b did!")
end

Class C

C = class()

function C:init(callback)
    self.callback = callback
end

function C:callB()
    self.callback()
end

The problem is that you are mixing functions and methods. (I don’t know your level of programming so I don’t know how to pitch this explanation - my apologies if I get it wrong.)

When you define a class, you define - as you do - a load of methods for use with that class. These become available when you declare an object of that class, but they have to[1] be called on a an actual object, otherwise Things Go Wrong. So when you call a method, you have to be sure that the method knows which object it should be called on.

When you pass the callbacks to the subclasses (B and C) then all you are actually passing is the method. You aren’t passing the object on which they should be called, so when the method gets called it is called with a nil object. But the callback, which is A:aDo, needs to know its object because it uses it: self.c:callB().