Where to start to learn the language lua Codea from scratch?

Hello. I am Russian, and I do not know anything about programming language lua, but would like to learn. Where can I begin to teach Lua for Codea, I would like to find a training for dummies. Thank you in advance.

if i make effort ?i would be a Codea master in 3 years?but now i couldnt capable of helping you?i really feel sorry for that?last time my stock losed one million dollars?but my estate appreciated three millions dollars

@ignatz has a very helpful blog aimed at beginners, its worth a glance!

Look at the “Wiki” link at the top of the page. That will show you links to more info also.

Just let me encourage you: lua is easy to learn.

The trickiest thing for an absolute beginner is that most instructional texts assume you’re typing into a console. Codea is not a console simulator. So a text may say “type in this and this and you’ll see this”, and Codea doesn’t work that way.

That’s why @Ignatz’s blog is so helpful–it’s specific to using lua in Codea.

Try my Lua ebook here (ignore the Dropbox login prompt)

thanks to all

if I can make of it, I learn how to program in lua, I will sacrifice to codea $ 1000 in gratitude. I’m a smart man, but stupid in programming. I am well paid and satisfied with his work, but since I’m a big fan of games like to learn how to do them, and for that I chose codea. Thank you in advance that you exist, dtsmayu you fulfilled my dream.

@iceman - start with @Ignatz’s book (and also the excellent tutorial series by @ReefWing - GIYF), keep things simple to begin with then when you’ve released your first Codea app, I’m sure @Ignatz and @ReefWing would be happy to split your $1000 - or you could just buy them each a new iPad :slight_smile:

As the other’s have said - learning to program in Lua is easy - BUT only if you have the kind of analytical mind that allows you to break a problem down in to a series of steps to solve it.