What is the most convenient way to code

New to Codea and I like the concept.
(I’ve played with Processing in the past, so I felt right at home even if I still need to get used to Lua a bit better.)

Now what I don’t like very much is typing on my iPad. Unfortunately, I don’t have a WiFi keyboard.
So I’m wondering, what is the best/most convenient way I can put code into Codea and have the references “at hand”?
I’ve played a bit with the AirCode mode - I like it actually - but it has some issues: As it always executes, it is sometimes quite instable taking Codea out without a trace. On relaunching, and reconnecting, the code changes are quite often lost adding a lot to frustration.
Is there a better way to do it?
A kind of “Air” mode - i.e. typing on the PC - but which doesn’t permanently runs the code at the same time?

@Bejoscha I’ve been using Codea for over 7 years and I only code with the built in keyboard. I can probably key faster with the build in keyboard then on an actual keyboard on a PC. I also find it more convenient sitting on the couch watching TV as I write code.

@dave1707 The typing isn’t so bad, but the cursor-placement and selection handles drive me nuts. I very much like the “cursor left/right” button the UI provides (-what would I give for it in other places!-) but I’m heavily missing a “up/down” cursor for navigation. I guess my fingers are just too thick or my parallax error at sight too big. I never touch things where I want.

My “current” solution is clumsy: Have AirCode on. Type in NotePad++ on my PC. Copy & paste the whole section into AirCode. Bet it doesn’t crash…

@Bejoscha If you use 2 fingers on the on-screen keyboard, you can move the text cursor around like a trackpad. You can even do text selection using this iPad feature. After holding 2 fingers on the keyboard, pause without moving for a short time and it will switch to selection mode. It is a little hard to explain so here is a link to a tutorial.