What I think is missing.

Because Codea 4.0 is in an active development phase, I would like to start this thread to talk about the features, as a user, I want to see coming to future releases.

First, I would like to mention that I am a professional game developer in a small company, and we develop cross-platform mobile game using C++.

I’m using Codea since version 2 I guess. I like it a lot. It helps me test game-play rapidly and improve my knowledge on different subjects related to games.

BUT

But, I’m also disappointed by it, and I will take the time to explain all my points.

1. Codea is not a enough to make games.

For me, Codea is more like a game library. It provides some of the core feature that are required: a scripting language, low level access to graphics API, a project manager, a way to import and export our stuff, etc. My favorite feature is the mesh() object. It provides access to one of the needed features to create 2D games: batching. For the peoples who don’t know, it’s an approach used to reduce the number of draw calls made on the GPU and increase drastically the FPS.

Making a game is basically two big bunches of works:

• the development of the game engine,
  • and the production of the assets used by the engine.

For this 2nd part, Codea as almost nothing.

It has the ability to import images and organize them into folders, that’s nice.
It has an embedded tool to create waveform, that’s neat.
It has an embedded shader editor. Cool but it crashes a lot.
It has a minimal text editor. hmmm.
It has AirCode. OMG don’t mention it.
I think, that’s it, and I say: “that’s not enough.”

If I can list rapidly what is missing and It will probably make no sens because Codea is meant to be used on iOS and it is limited by it. Imagine if we don’t have any limitation, in a hypothetical version of Codea that will never exists, what can it do: