Using shaders created in Shade on a 2D mesh

I am still quite new to Codea and I just got Shade today. I was able to use the shaders made in Shade on 3D craft models in Codea. However, I can’t figure out a way to get them to work on 2D meshes. I only started learning about shaders recently, so I might have a misunderstanding on how they work. I can get normal shaders built in Codea to work on my meshes, but nothing made in Shade.

Is there something I am missing? Do I need to make the shaders in Shade in a special way or is it not possible?

Any help would be great! Thanks

@exomut at the moment you need to use the craft API to make use of shaders exported from Shade

You can create simple boxes and planes in craft and apply materials made in Shade. In the attached project (zip) you can see the basic checker material applied to a cube in Codea

We’re working on universal support for Shade files throughout Codea, including on mesh

Thanks for the quick reply.

I was able to import a model I made in the iOS app “Forge” and apply the checker material. Craft projects work perfectly. Since you recently added support for craft projects export to xcode, I feel excited to start working on some 3D projects. Making a 2D app using 3D might be a fun challenge too!

I am not a professional programmer. I am an English teacher that makes apps to use in class to make classes more interesting, so I mainly focus on 2D. Shaders make the look of app more enjoyable for the students.

I can’t wait for support for 2D meshes. I am also looking forward to the Universal iPhone and iPad support that is in beta, as well. Keep up the great work.

@exomut you can make a 2D app using craft, you’d basically have to set it up so you have an isometric camera pointing at a plane

But definitely the mesh API is simpler and more direct, so we’ll be unifying the rendering in the future

That’s really cool that you build apps for your students