Tutorials

I’m very new to code, and have completed the wiki tutorials and am starting into find out bits and bats. I have had some valuable help on this forum, especially from @dave1707 which is always appreciated.

My question is as anyone ever written a breakdown of any of the preset projects within codea explaining every line of code. I feel this would be a big help to understand code better. Take dungeon roller as an example I’d love to know what every line meant, it would help explain a lot of questions. To a newbie it’s all letters and numbers and I feel an explanation of each line would also help alot with the layout of projects and where to use tabs when nessasary.

@thebugel I think something that would probably help you even more is if you took a simple program and did a breakdown on each line of code. You would get the experience of looking at the online manual and reading the explanation for the commands you see. Then by putting it into your own words as a comment, you would get a better understanding of what’s happening for each line of code. I’m not suggesting that you stop asking for help, but I think doing this would help you better than someone else doing the comments. When you run into something you can’t figure out, then you can post the line or lines that are giving you trouble. As always, we’re here to help.

I agree with @dave1707 but did you look at my lander example as suggested last time you asked a similar question?

http://twolivesleft.com/Codea/Talk/discussion/3218/codea-where-do-i-start#Item_15

It’s pretty much a breakdown line by line

Somewhere there is a page with some explanations of some of the built in projects, but I can’t remember where.