Tutorials - Lighting in 3D

For those who are interested, I’ve started a series of posts on how to create great 3D lighting effects, here

http://coolcodea.wordpress.com/2013/09/24/112-lighting-in-3d-introduction/

I’m going to cover the main types of light (sunlight, spotlights, a torch beam) and the effects they produce, and provide a code library you can use in your projects.

You need to understand meshes and shaders to follow it, so it is not for absolute beginners*. It is also pretty difficult, and I really struggled with it. I hope these posts make it easier for other people!
(* but if you are a beginner and want to understand lighting, you don’t need a degree in Computer Science - I was in your position 6 months ago - so start learning about meshes, then shaders, I have lots of blog posts on both. Just be patient, it may take you a while).

I don’t claim to be any kind of expert, and it is difficult to judge how clear my explanations of this difficult topic are. So comments and suggestions are welcome.

Very nice. Skimmed through the lot and it takes a good approach to building everything up. The only bit I’d have to play with is your space conversion, because tbh I only got it working one way (everything to object space), and I’m sure you are right for the moving normals to world space, but I found the inverse transpose model matrix worked for moving light vectors from world to object, and it seems the same math to move normals from object to world…