Trouble understanding Voxels / Voxel Volumes in LUA

Greetings,

I am new to the Codea Forums and was sent here from the Love2D Forums. The group there suggested I come here after my project exceeded the scope and limits of Love2D even with the 3D add on modules.

A bit of info on Project.
This project is being coded in LUA with OpenGL on a Windows PC. I do not have access to a machine running ISO or any other apple product.
I do have a laptop running Linux. This is being programmed at this time with play intended to be on a desktop or laptop running Window, MacOS, or Linux with the option, later on, to export it over to tablets and phones.

The game is intended to be a 3D recreation of the Classic Break Out game. The one boxed with Windows 95 with the paddle at the bottom of the screen and the wall of bricks at the top that you destroyed with a ball.

In my version, I want the “Bricks” to be a voxel volume entity that-
1: Can be added to or deleted from based on what powerups the player collects (good or bad). This is in addition to the bricks being destroyed by the ball in normal gameplay.
2: Move from the physical collision forces of the ball within the defined area at the end of the playfield. This would be both directional and rotational.
3: Same as two but from collision forces from multiple voxel volumes hitting one another in the defined area. Higher levels are intended to have more than one “brick box” moving around.

Where I run into problems is in understanding how to make the voxels and the volumes that go with them. I have a few examples of voxels and volumes but they are in C# and JavaScript. I can not for some reason wrap my head around the proper translations of the other languages to Lua. When I started asking on the Love2D forums as to how to do this I was pushed in Codea’s direction and told that Craft was what I needed.

Two things of additional note-