Touch events for mesh buttons

Hi,

I’m totally new to Codea and until now I only learned markup languages. So I’m trying to get into lua and followed the tutorials in the wiki (wish there’d be more!). I’m trying to create a UI first, as I think it would be the most easy part. I fully understand the mesh concept, but am stuck with TouchEvents. Right now, I would like to initiate an action when pushing a button (actually rectangle meshes with texture).

Here’s the code I’ve come up with:

supportedOrientations(LANDSCAPE_ANY)
-- Use this function to perform your initial setup
function setup()
    --Set the viewer to fullscreen
    displayMode( FULLSCREEN )

c1 = color(31, 57, 84, 255)
    c2 = color(36, 115, 196, 255)

by = 50
    ty = 100
    iw = 120
    i2w = 100
    ih = 30

buttonframe = Frame(865, 50, WIDTH - 5, HEIGHT - 55)

topbar = mesh()
    id1 = topbar:addRect(WIDTH/2,HEIGHT-ty/2, WIDTH,ty)
    topbar:setRectColor(id1, 218, 75, 75, 255)

bottombar = mesh()
    bottombar.vertices = {vec2(0,0), vec2(WIDTH,0), vec2(0,by), vec2(0,by), vec2(WIDTH,by), vec2(WIDTH,0)}
    bottombar.colors = {c1, c1, c2, c2, c2, c1}

menu_img = readImage("Cargo Bot:Menu Button")
    icone = mesh()
    icone.texture = menu_img
    icone:addRect(iw/2+20, by/2, iw, ih)
    icone:setRectTex(1,0,0,1,1)

exit_img = readImage("Cargo Bot:Clear Button")
    ico_exit = mesh()
    ico_exit.texture = exit_img
    ico_exit:addRect(WIDTH - i2w/2 - 20, by/2, i2w, ih)
    ico_exit:setRectTex(1,0,0,1,1)
end

function touched(touch)
    sound(SOUND_HIT, 33733)
    if ico_exit:touched(touch) then
        close()
    end
end

-- This function gets called once every frame
function draw()
    -- This sets a dark background color 
    background(40, 40, 50)

-- This sets the line thickness
    strokeWidth(5)

-- Do your drawing here
    topbar:draw()
    bottombar:draw()
    icone:draw()
    ico_exit:draw()
end