Sprite Lists Problem

I am extremely new at codea and lua and I am having trouble creating sprites and being able to remove them if something collides. I do have coding experience in Python/Pygame but the difference is that there is no sprite list inside codea (unless you make one). Can anyone explain how you input sprites in a group and remove the sprite when touched? Thanks.

@Crazypkr1099 Here’s a very simple way to move sprites and make them disappear when they collide. The collision isn’t real, just a math compare, and the sprites don’t really disappear, they just don’t get drawn when they’re close.

function setup()
    x1=WIDTH/2
    y1=HEIGHT-100
    x2=WIDTH/2
    y2=100  
end

function draw()
    background(40,40,50)
    if math.abs(y1-y2)>70 then
        sprite("Planet Cute:Character Boy",x1,y1)
        sprite("Planet Cute:Character Pink Girl",x2,y2)
    end
    y1=y1-1
    y2=y2+1
end

@dave1707 thanks, but my other question was how to spawn multiple sprites and make each disappear. I hope you understand :slight_smile:

@Crazypkr1099 I’ll give you an example shortly.

Oh and my last question, are they any great video tutorials or written tutorials on lua and codea? Again, sorry for double posting :\

@Crazypkr1099 Tap the screen to show a sprite. Tap the sprite to make it disappear. Yes, there are a lot of tutorials created by @Ignatz. See the link below.

http://coolcodea.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/index-of-posts/

sample code modified from another discussion.

displayMode(FULLSCREEN)

function setup()
    rectMode(CENTER)
    tt={}   -- create a table
end

function draw()
    background(40,40,50)
    fill(53, 255, 0, 255)
    for a,b in pairs(tt) do -- loop thru table
        sprite("Planet Cute:Character Pink Girl",b.x-20,b.y-20)   -- draw sprites
    end
end

function touched(t)
    if t.state==ENDED then  -- check touch dtate
        for a,b in pairs(tt) do -- loop thru table
            if t.x > b.x -40 and t.x < b.x +40 then