Should I buy Codea?

Right so I feel like for most people in this forum the answer is an obvious one but bare with me here!

I am a programmer by trade. At work I’m spending most of my time in php or js land which is fine and I enjoy it.

I used to make a lot of prototype games and things in various languages but since getting full time work and a family I found I have a lot less time to do it. I still spend a few minutes every evening poking around in Unity or pico-8 though thankfully!

(My current prototype is a lot like the just released apple arcade game Mini Motorways which was a bit of a morale hit but I like my game a lot still so I’ll keep cracking on)

Basically it comes down to this, I want to be able to dev on my phone. The absolute dream is obviously Pico-8 on ios but that’s still a long way out so I was wondering if you guys think that Codea will scratch that itch. The downsides are learning a new engine takes time and I’ve already got my fingers in so many different dev pies.

I’m on the fence but I really like the idea of Codea, one thing that would definitely tip me over the edge would be more news on the new multiplatform runtime because I’m not really in it for the money so getting my stuff out to as big an audience as possible is my main motivation I guess?

I nearly signed this off like an email!

I’ve waited to ask this question until now because while I do own an ipad I have very little interest in using any productivity app that I cannot also use on my phone when I wake up with a bright idea at 4am…