Parallel transport

I’m trying to generate a mesh along a path in 3d space.
The path can have any shape (I’m trying to generate trees)
I keep running into issues where the points of my mesh suddenly rotate 180° compared to the previous node of the path, this results in an unusable mesh(not a mesh but a mess, hahah)
I found the algorithm (parallel transport) that could fix my issue
I found an implementation including an example in C++ which would be be of great help… but I have no experience with C++
the math of Parallel Transport is difficult for me to wrap my head around (and I have much trouble reading formulas as I have no education to help me with this)

I feel like this is a huge ask but if there’s someone here who could translate this implementation and provide me with a working demo project of parallel transport in Codea … I would be very grateful as it would help me greatly in realizing my dream of generating 3d digital plants! :potted_plant: …and much more!

the C++ implementation can be found here:

I have trouble even describing the exact thing I require… but what I think I need is an algorithm that takes a path and returns 3 vectors(for x,y and z) that I can multiply my original points x,y and z by in order to get the a position relative to the path node which is “parallel” to the previous node.

perhaps more clearly(or just more confusingly…) what I need is a way to take a set of points in a normalized coordinate space (where x = the angle around the path, y = the distance traveled along the path and z = the distance outward from the path) and wrap these points around a curved path, ideally with smooth interpolation(catmull-rom spline*) for points whose y(distance along the path) falls somewhere between path nodes.

function crSpline(p0,p1,p2,p3,t) --return point t on a catmull–rom spline
    return((2*p1)+(p2-p0)*t+(2*p0-5*p1+4*p2-p3)*t^2+(3*p1-p0-3*p2+p3)*t^3)/2
end