Other languages! Especially JavaScript

So - I’ve mentioned before that a ton of the value in Codea isn’t Lua - I can code in Lua for free elsewhere (or even on the iPad if I pay apple to be a dev) - the value is in the libraries twolivesleft adds, and the editor. It’s self-hosting that makes Codea exciting - being able to do an app from start to finish on the same platform I run it on.

I’d pay for that same environment, again, in other languages - and I bet there are coders out there who have said “ooh, I want that… But I’m a YOUR-FAVORITE-LANGUAGE-HERE programmer, I dont want to learn Lua”. I mean, I like Lua a lot, but I still think in perl - you want another 8 (or more) bucks from me, give me Codea-with-perl. I’m sure all of the modern interpreted languages are the same in this regard.

But, as much as I hate to say it, JavaScript has a special place here - it has special dispensation, apparently, from apple, and a good version is built-in. I’d rather program in lua than js, but I’d rather have network access and apple not freaking out about what we write than lua (or perl or whatever). And I can do that, today, right now (and have). What I don’t have for js right now is… A self-hosted dev environment.

This is where you come in maybe.

What I envision is pretty simple - a local web server, maybe only answering on localhost if necessary, and an editor that can make/edit files in its document root. Js and maybe CSS syntax hilighting in the editor. Let the actual code execution happen in mobile safari where apple doesn’t care! We have the parts of this already in other apps - editors, and local servers - just put me in a box with a nice bow on top. It shouldn’t even phase apple, either, because you aren’t even running outside code - ever!