Non game applications

Hi. I have noticed that the majority of the sample apps created have been games. Not so surprising when you consider the opportunity if it clicks with people. I’ve prototyped an app idea for my company in Excel with the purpose of developing an iOS app. It is currently being used to test the concept with success so far. The closest app you could say it is like is quoting / invoicing. Is it possible to use Codea to develop it into a fully functional app or a prototype iOS app. I’m not a programmer and in fact couldn’t program anything to save my life so I like the idea of Codea or at least what I’ve seen so far. Thanks in advance for your help… Cheers

Yes it is possible to make whatever app you want with Codea and put it on the appstore. However Apple restricts the exchange of data so strongly that it can be a no-go for professionnal use: you can easily use file exchange only via the web, not via usb key (unless you jailbreak) or usb link (then itunes must run on the PC, or you must use iExplorer, which is not professionally safe). web only data exchange is usually forbidden by company policies (who knows what the NSA is doing with your data? Hello guys, nothing personal!.).

Fantastic thank you for your quick response. We use Salesforce so I could probably use Codea to create a functional prototype with existing costing data and once ok’d use the Salesforce Mobile SDK to pull live data. Well beyond my abilities but a functional prototype that the team finds useful might enable development for global rollout. I work for Fujifilm. All this sounds very nice but I have absolutely no idea how to do it. Every time I read the guides I start to get a headache and need a drink! Sadly I’m passionate about the tremendous opportunity we have with these tools but stopped learning as a teenager after the Commodore 64 so every time I look at code I need a drink. Cheers