Newbie: Create a tendril/vine effect?

I’m a professional C#.Net programmer, but I’m brand new to game programming (except for some time spent playing with XNA) and just purchased Codea with a Christmas gift card. Exciting! I’m working through the examples and tutorials and am impressed with the ease and functionality of the Lua language and the Codea app in particular. All that said, I have some visions for an app and am not sure how to get started with creating some of the elements. Hopefully this question is not too generic but I’m hoping someone can provide some guidance on creating an effect that would simulate a growing flower. I imagine it uncoiling from the ground and reaching skyward eventually rooting itself in the ground with a thick base and a thin stem. I’m not looking for code exactly, since I enjoy the research involved in implementation but I need some basic direction on how this could be accomplished. Is something like this even possible in Codea? Since I don’t want a simple line I’m not sure if I’d have to use sprites? How do I animate something like this?
I am happy to post code once I begin this process and am glad to be part of this community!
Thanks!

Hi. You want it 2d or 3d?

Sorry for neglecting to mention. 2D. I’ve been looking at the concept of a mesh along with Bézier curves and think it may be possible to create it using these ideas, although I’m still working through the implementations I’ve found. They are pretty complex for a new games programmer.
Thanks!

You could look at my post KraizyCircles: i draw the path between cicles with a mesh because it is a lot of circles. And for other objects i use sprites because it is simpler. You should use mesh for the stem.