Learning exercises requested

Hi guys,

I’m new to Codea and Lua (not to coding in general) and am learning Codea one step at a time. I’m almost done with the “Codea for beginners” pdf by ignatz, which I’ve found to be a real good help!

As with anything, the best way to learn is by doing. So at the end of each chapter I gave myself some tests that I felt should be possible with the knowledge I just earned. Nothing too fancy, but just enough to test my competences.
I was wondering if you guys had some more exercises I could attempt (please add an estimated complexity & if required what must be known before starting)?

As an example, these are a few of the tests I gave myself (all beginner level off course :slight_smile: )

• Draw a randomly sized rectangle and make it continuously move up and down over 200 pixels in the center of the screen (I didn’t have the skillset yet to use tween, so I coded each pixel movement)
  • Add an image to the project and make it “pulse” (so zoom slightly in and back out continuously)
  • Add a line that starts where the touch started and ends where the touch ended (Yay, I reached touch code!)
  • Place a circle in the center (pretend it’s a planet) and make a smaller circle “orbit” it (calculate the distance from the center of the planet and keep that distance)
  • Add to the above: remove the orbiting planet and replace by a triangle (which represent a satellite) that always has the same side towards to planet surface

I’ve just finished reading the physics and mesh chapters, don’t have any tests for those yet but I will invent some by the time I get home from work :slight_smile:

So, who’s got more little tests for me? As you can see, I’m still real basic, but I’m getting there :wink: