Latest project: chorded keyboard

Here’s a video of my latest project. I ought to play it at double speed to make it look impressive but I’m still learning where all the keys are (plus I haven’t finished the keyboard - it only does little letters and spaces at the moment). In actual fact, the text rendering was the most complicated: it’s a system built out of “boxes” to make it possible to have flowable text that can change colour and font mid-stream.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w2QmBOF0_Sk

A virtual BAT, great! However, I like the microwriter alphabet better for its visual style:

Nevertheless a very interesting non-game program I’d like to use myself for a while.

The problem with visual systems is that it’s very hard to remember the logic unless you thought it up yourself. My layout was based on letter frequencies and what I thought were the easiest chords. Even so, I need the key key! Incidentally, it adjusts to the position of your hand and can distinguish left and right hands.

Is there supposed to be audio with the video? If so I am not hearing any.

What kind of audio do you expect? Key clicking? Some radio music so the video will be block in Germany? Andrew humming in concentration?

No.

Ouch @Codeslinger! Not a daft question when the phrase “chorded keyboard” has very strong musical connotations…

Hi @Keebo unfortunately due to some device limitations we cannot easily record the audio produced by Codea apps. I really want to add this feature, but right now it’s not feasible.

.@Andrew_Stacey, I could be wrong, but it appears as if you’re limiting the keyboard to three simultaneous touches. I presume it’s because four touches would interfere with iOS multitouch gestures. Something to consider might be to not worry about the multitouch gestures. Just warn users to turn it off before using the keyboard. That way, you could expand your input options. It might even allow you to detect touches from both hands at once.