How to transfer data to PC

Hi, I’m new to Codea
I would like to write a simple program to collect a fair amount of accelerometer data and analyze the data on a PC using Excel or other tools.
Would someone point me to an example on how to collect data and more importantly how to transfer data to PC?
Thanks

The easiest way is to save the data locally in the file format of your choice and then use one of several apps (both available for PC and Mac) like FunBox, or iExplore to connect your iPad to your computer, you then have to browse the app directory structure, find the Codea folder, inside that find the .codea folder and inside that you’ll find the local documents folder where 's data files are stored.

For later analysis on the PC using Excel, you might want to save your data as a CSV (each value separated by a comma) file.

Hope this helps.

Other, slightly more difficult alternatives:

1. Jailbreak, then use normal unix copy commands - rsync is my favorite. This has the advantage of being able to be done untethered.

2. Use http.request() and send your data to a website.

As for how to collect the data - go look at the example programs (if you haven’t already) to see how to get the acceleration data; I’d then simply accrue it in a table, or if you’re doing (2) above just post it on the fly (depending on how often you want to sample)

.@bortels could you be more detailed on how to send a file to a website? I have a web site, but i don’t know how to send a file to my site with codea, nor what to do on the sever side…

Heh - I knew someone would ask.

So - here’s a basic skeleton, the minimal amount you’d need to do; and you can build on it. This is running on my ubuntu box at home:

bortels@duo:/var/www/codea$ ls -al
total 16
drwxrwxr-x  2 bortels bortels 4096 Dec  6 10:13 .
drwxr-xr-x 46 bortels bortels 4096 Dec  6 10:11 ..
-rw-rw-rw-  1 bortels bortels   26 Dec  6 10:13 data.txt
-rwxrwxr-x  1 bortels bortels  489 Dec  6 10:12 index.cgi