How To Teach Lua/Codea

Hi all,

In another thread I got into a discussion with @Andrew_Stacey and @Ignatz about teaching programming to young children using Codea (and hence Lua). (In my case, I started one daughter at age 7 and another at age 10. Some of their similarly-aged friends are now interested too.) @Andrew_Stacey suggested I start a new thread for discussing approaches to that.

At age 7, part of the challenge is that even basic math skills (say, the notion of “multiplication”) aren’t quite solid yet. So I try to find a path that adds skills very incrementally while trying to keep a sense of wonder all along the way. So far, most of what I’ve done is one on one; i.e., I teach only one child at a time.

I started programming quite young myself around 1980: Back then, my aspiration was to write something like Space Invaders or Pac-Man, which was actually a nearly realistic goal for a 10-year old with a home computer of the time. Nowadays, the aspiration is in terms of something like Minecraft, which is far less realistic: So I think it’s harder for a child today to stay motivated than it was 30 years ago.

Anyway, on to some practical notes… suggestions for improvement welcome.