How far can I go with Codea for 2D/3D game dev?

I’m currently a Unity developer, working on a big 2D project. It is very nice, but I also have the latest iPad Pro and I want to leave my old laptop at home and go out to work in a cafe. I have some small game ideas that I want to fool around with, but I like to write complicated systems that work together.

For example, I like to write RPG systems such as equipment systems, inventory systems, character systems with stats etc. that all work together. I know that Lua isn’t a solid OOP language, but I believe I can work around the limitations.

So my question is, how far can I bring my projects before I’ll need to export to Xcode? Is it like any game engine that the limitation is your imagination? Or are there serious limitations and roadblocks that doesn’t have any workaround and would require exporting? I know that it doesn’t have a visual editor like Unity, but I have experience with engines like MonoGame so that won’t be an issue as long as I can write my custom UI editors.

Why I’m asking is, the app is relatively expensive in my country, so I’d like to have as much assurance as I can before buying it.

Thanks for reading.