How do I get a for loop to wait?

Is there a function in codea that will stop a loop from continuing until a condition is satisfied to?

Just so you know, I am new to Codea.

Yes

for i=1, 100 do
  If a==25 then goto suite end
end
:: suite::

@hpsoft - better is

for i=1, 100 do
  If a==25 then break end
end

but I’m not sure this is what was asked

@jaj_TheDeveloper - can you be more specific?

I think the solution you are looking for is coroutines:

function setup()
    co = coroutine.create(dostuff)
    frame = 0
end
function draw()
    frame = frame + 1
    if frame%10 == 0 then
        coroutine.resume(co)
    end
end
function dostuff()
    for i=1,math.huge do
        print(i)
        if i%5==0 then
            coroutine.yield()
        end
    end
end

I am trying to create a for loop that pauses until touch.state == ENDED

I need it to only repeat it 15 times with the i = 1, 15 so a while loop will not be suitable.

@Monkeyman32123 what does coroutine.resume do, exactly?

Why does it need to be a for loop though? It’d be easier to have a variable that you increment yourself after the touch has ended. When I said we needed to see some code, I meant more than a little snippets! :slight_smile:

Do you want to know my golden rule of coroutines? If you think you need a coroutine, you probably don’t.

@yojimbo2000 +1

I think you might want a while loop

while condition == true do
    -- whatever loop should do --
end

@jaj nope, there is no such thing.
The closest answer is Monkeyman coroutine, but it is complex.
However, whatever you want to do, i bet you can do it WITHOUT this function

@jaj_TheDeveloper Would a while loop inside a for loop be what your wanting? Each time the for loop is executed it wouldn’t move on to the next for loop item until the while loop is satisfied.