Hi there! I'm new to moderation.

Hello, everyone!
So many of all already know me, the little kid who had no idea in internet a year ago, now I’m here to help. So yesterday I’ve came into moderating and removed 3 spam accounts today. Yet, I’ve missed to ban all three. May someone find those three and ban them, I currently have no idea how to find these three. So, I am looking into warm greetings!

The three ‘users’ have been advertising a link somewhere that looked like a chatroom, can we generally ban the email services they are using?

@platinum.clarized.com
@clan.suspent.com
@root.factorican.com
@hear.knaive.com
@root.factorican.com

they are all domains that apparently are just made for generating spambot accounts.

E: In general, would a forum backup make sense?

Thanks in advance, regards,
Anatoly.

@Anatoly Mods don’t have the power to ban email services. I generally don’t ban anyone until they post something unrelated to Codea.

I’ve been trying to ban email domains but they just keep generating more

It’s almost so bad that I feel like just white-listing known good email providers (which are almost all @gmail.com / @me.com / @iCloud.com)

yahoo.com, mail.ru, and some other are also legit. Maybe a user-approving system, for now, till we find a solution?

New users can post as always, but at first only moderators see the post, then either approving or banning the account, would be an option.

Edit: And we can add the white list, too.

Known email providers are white listed, and other users have to be approved.

@Simeon Is there anyway to restrict a new user from posting anything for 24 or 48 hours.

Could be made (I guess Simeon has access to the code of the talk). But 24 hours are a bit too much. Imagine a new user having trouble with code: “Due to security reasons, you are allowed to talk on the next day.”

Can we test if IP bans work?