Getting Started with Cider

Hi, I am fairly new here, and just getting started.

I need to know step-by-step how to set up Cider in a project in Codea.

Please comment if you can help.

Like I said I am just getting started and it looks like this would fit with what I need for my project.

Do you know LUA? If not, you should probably be learning it before you want to use Cider.

I have learned the basics of LUA. I am more familiar with HTML/JavaScript though.

So it should not be too difficult then.
I have no link for you, but i am sure sby will post one soon.

Ok, have you set up cider before then? Maybe you could just give me some basic instructions, mostly where to copy in the cider code, and where to copy in the cider controls?

It is there http://twolivesleft.com/Codea/Talk/discussion/comment/27637#Comment_27637

That shows me where to get the code but not where to paste it, thanks though.

You paste the code in 2 separate projects.
You make one depend on the other (dont remember which one): check the dependancy menu.
Then you run this project and you see many working exanples.
Then you copy and tweek what you want to your own project.
If this is not clear enough, then you should practice codea a little bit more before trying to use cider, you are not ready yet, young padawan ! :wink:
(i mean: cider is great, but you need to have some experience with codea to use it)

Ok, thank you.

That should be enough to get me going. Mostly I didn’t realize I had to paste it in 2 different projects.

Also if you have a good (free) site that has Lua tutorials, links would be much appreciated.

Again thank you, and thanks for the warm welcome!

Tap the wiki button on top of this page, there is a tutorial section with excelent links. Welcome on board!

Hey, sorry to be absent from this conversation (and messages). I was out for the weekend.

Sounds like you’re on your way. And I’m reminded again that I really, really need to get around to writing that documentation.