Explorer!

This is a second sidebar for Codea that shows all of the values, userdatas, tables, strings, etc… being used in the program.

Tap the arrow in the top right to open the explorer! The lower box shows all of the values in the current table or class instance you areviewing (_G at the start), and if you tap any table or class value in this list, you will then move on to viewing the values in that table or class. The boxes above that are the different tabs, tap them to change what types of variable are shown; the box above those one shows what table or class you are currently viewing, and tapping this box returns you to the last table or class, unless you are currently viewing _G. Long pressing that box will also return you to _G, no matter what depth you are currently at. Press the arrow again to close the explorer. Sorry im not too good at explaining.

To use it in a project just do: varname = Explorer() anywhere in your code (suggested setup) and then varname:remove() to get rid of it! If you would like to hide Codea default values then simply do varname = Explorer(true) when initiating the Explorer instead; useful for keeping track of your values in a game and not being cluttered by all of those Codea values.

Link: https://gist.github.com/monkeyman32123/374a4779bf394c3f55ce

Can’t be used with my FPS indicator, but if there’s enough interest in these projects ill make them compatible. Still a bit laggy, working to make it work faster, also still working on making the code efficient and pretty.

UPDATE: bug fixes and made it change with the orientation (oooooh)

So it draws a white background.

The draw and touched functions are empty. :-?

Nope! Rather it hijacks the draw function and adds its stuff to it. Has no effect on how things work except if you have another draw-hijacking thing (such as my FPS indicator). I like making my stuff that way so that it doesnt clutter draw. Just tap the arrow in the top right!

Just tap the arrow in the top right!