Error when using array

This is my first attempt at making and using an array, and I need help to figure out what I’m doing wrong. I want to use an array of RGB values to cycle an object through different colors. In main setup I put:

colorIndex = 1
colorArray = {}
colorArray[1] = {255, 255, 0}
colorArray[2] = {255, 0, 255}
colorArray[3] = {0, 255, 255}
colorArray[4] = {0, 32, 255}
colorArray[5] = {255, 0, 32}
colorArray[6] = {0, 255, 32}

…to create an iterator variable and an array of values. I create a Ball object with this code (also in main):

--make a new ball
balls[ballIndex] = Ball(math.random(50, WIDTH - 50), HEIGHT - 200, colorIndex)

…the Ball object is constructed and drawn with this code:

function Ball:init(x, y, ci)
– you can accept and set parameters here
self.x = x
self.y = y
self.rate = 1
end

function Ball:draw()
–method to draw ball
pushStyle()
fill(colorArray[ci][1], colorArray[ci][2], colorArray[ci][3], 255)
ellipse(self.x, self.y, 100)
popStyle()
end

…but when I try to run this I get the error “attempt to index a nil value” that traces from the fill line in Ball:draw()

What am I doing wrong?

@Eustace Here’s your code with changes. If you have questions about what I did, just ask.

function setup()   
    colorArray = {}
    colorArray[1] = color(255, 255, 0)
    colorArray[2] = color(255, 0, 255)
    colorArray[3] = color(0, 255, 255)
    colorArray[4] = color(0, 32, 255)
    colorArray[5] = color(255, 0, 32)
    colorArray[6] = color(0, 255, 32)

balls={}
    for ci=1,#colorArray do
        table.insert(balls,Ball(ci))
    end
end

function draw()
    background(0)    
    for a,b in pairs(balls) do
        b:draw()
    end
end

Ball=class()

function Ball:init(ci)
    self.x = math.random(50,WIDTH-50)
    self.y = math.random(50,HEIGHT-50)
    self.ci=ci
end

function Ball:draw()
    fill(colorArray[self.ci])
    ellipse(self.x, self.y, 100)
end