Dungeon Design Opportunity

So I built this huge empty 3D dungeon… (images in video are just 2D placeholders)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5okg8yWaLM

and I’m busy finding 3D models to put in it, such as these

The next step is to begin designing the interior of the dungeon - what the objects are for and where to put them, how the creatures behave, and some kind of storyline, objectives, etc. For example, boxes hold health, zombies, bugs and spiders chase you and eat you if they catch you, but you can shoot them if you have a gun and bullets, or maybe whack them with an axe (if I can find an axe model). And zombies chase you if they can see you (or maybe smell you), or maybe they just wander round in circles. And maybe I need a boss monster to end the level.

And I’m not very good at deciding all of that.

I’m creating a specification with all the details I have so far, and the constraints such as how much stuff I can put in one place without affecting performance, and the limitations of the modelling, and I’ll keep it up to date. (While Codea cannot match apps like Infinity Blades because of graphic limitations, it is looking possible to make a fun first person shooter).

What I’d like to know if there is anyone who’d enjoy helping to lay out the dungeon, and maybe also help with some of the programming (it’s not all 3D, eg it needs things like path finding, and better player controls than in the video above!). If so, I’ll share my specification and ask you to see what you can come up with. You will also get to play test the dungeon as it develops.

And if you are also keen to learn 3D modelling, I will be very happy to fast track you and involve you in the programming. You will need solid Codea skills to start with, though, and have some free time, as it takes some serious effort. But I think it’s worth it, because for me, 3D is absolutely the best thing about Codea. It’s difficult and challenging, but the best things in life often are.