Create a Math Game

I’m quite new to Codea but I need to make this program that does math. The description of the program is:

“Create a program that will allow the user to enter in the answer from a simple math problem. Both numbers for the question are in the range from 1 → 99. If the user gets it right, a message tells them this and then increments the “Number Correct” count. If the user gets it wrong, a message tells them they got it wrong, tell them the correct answer and then increments the “Number Wrong” count. Both numbers should be generated randomly and the program should randomly select an operation each time as well (+, -, *, /). Also don’t use the iPad keyboard to input the answer”

I would appreciate any input from anyone on how I would go about doing this. Thanks! :slight_smile:

School project?

If so, how much can you figure out for yourself? While we are happy to help, you won’t learn anything if we do all the thinking for you.

I suggest you break the problem into its parts

• creating random numbers and arithmetic operations

• displaying the problem on the screen

• providing a way for the user to enter an answer without the keyboard

• keeping score of correct and incorrect answers

Looking at each of these separately makes it easier to solve.

(and welcome to the forum).
:-h

Check this for ideas: http://codea.io/talk/discussion/6936/guess-the-number

@Ignatz Yeah it kind of is a project but my teacher hasn’t taught us a lot. I know the print function and we skimmed through if statements in Codea. We haven’t learned about buttons or generating random mathematical equations. But thanks anyways, I’ll search the forum.

@quezadav Thanks as well. Although I don’t quite understand that code, but it’s alright. I’ll just figure it out somehow.

If that’s all you know, you haven’t any chance of doing this.

You need to understand the drawing cycle, how to draw text on the screen, how to make simple clickable “buttons” and how touch works.