Combining objc with standard Codea commands to make a resizable web browser (intro)

Dear Codea Community,

I was excited when @Simeon recently announced that we could now incorporate additional iOS functionality in Codea thanks to @jfperusse’s objc bridge. I’m a amateur programmer that loves Lua and Codea and longed for the ability to create utilities on my iPad but needed additional GUI, web browser, and speech recognition capabilities to do so. I was especially wanting to create displays that were multi-functional (e.g. contain a textbox for data entry, a web-browser for knowledge searching, and 2 and 3D drawing capability to display images). I initially asked Simeon if they would consider making Codea’s built in browser resizable, and he suggested instead to use the new objc bridge to create a resizable browser with iOS’s built in WKWebView (there is also a fully resizable SFSafariViewController in iOS but it doesn’t seem to be working yet with the objc bridge). Thus, I created the following example of a resizable web browser to share with others what I learned about how to use the objc bridge in Lua, and how one might combine objc code with standard Lua code in Codea. I thank jfperusse for offering suggestions when I got stuck trying to program with the objc bridge.

Please note that the program is not fully polished and crashes not infrequently which may improve after future objc updates in Codea. It doesn’t do everything that Safari can do nor run as smoothly, and the Codea objects don’t quite update at the same time as their adjacent objc objects do. Still, I think other might find it useful as an example since the objc bridge is relatively new. As amateur programmer, I welcome all feedback to improve the code.

(Code and sprites too large for one post; posted separately as subsequent post of same title (code))