Codeslinger

…posted something really nasty about Ron Jeffries. I deleted it and asked him to moderate it.

My advice to him below is followed by his original comment underneath. I was amazed by it, and luckily, Ron is away, I think, so he won’t see it.

One to watch, I’m afraid.

Codeslinger - how would you feel if someone wrote about you like that? Even if you are correct, this barrage of insults makes you look like an immature jerk, and raises the question, how much do you know about this stuff, anyway?

Regardless, we don’t tolerate personal attacks on this forum. Moderate your comment or don’t make it.

I suggest you can get the same points across more effectively and less offensively, using the Socratic approach of asking dumb questions. He would start by saying “please forgive me asking, because I’m not an expert on this, but what happens if you put in + to start with?” And so on. Doing it the “please explain…” way is devastatingly effective, without the need to be nasty.

I’ve copied and pasted your original post below so you don’t lose the points you were making.

I’m doing this for your benefit, because I’m hoping you didn’t set out to be a deliberate jerk.

------------------- original comment -----------

A short essay going by the name

. . . . . PLUS THE PLUS PROBLEM . . . . .

in which I claim that Ron Jeffries:

• uses lousy TDD
  • to create a bad calculator
  • should better be using BDD
  • excuses lack of design because of focus on tests
  • weighs in with his „authority“ to make it look good

Perhaps he’s doing this deliberately to show more interesting problems up front, but, alas, he then fails to step back and solve some basic ones.

Let me ask you:

• What happens when you press + on a freshly started calculator?
  • What happens if you press + two times in a row in midst of a calculation?
  • Without looking at the code!