Codea Enhancements: Learnable Programming

Summary

I found a great article tonight that I think outlines some great approach to making programming more learnable that could and should be leveraged by Codea to make it even easier to use and encourage broader adoption of Codea as a teaching tool. I’ve recently started to teach my 7 yr old daughter to code and have been thinking a lot about such things lately and its an area that many people could benefit from.

Please check out the following article and give feedback on what you think! :slight_smile:

http://worrydream.com/LearnableProgramming/

Details

I’m a long time programmer who started to learn programming at the ripe age of 8 years old with a Commodore 64 back around 1982. I’ve started to teach my very bright 7 year old daughter how to program and so far she and I are having a blast working together using Codea to make a game she’s titled “Super Kitty Girl!”. :slight_smile:

I’ve been thinking a lot about how to teach programming so I can help my daughter learn the ropes as I did so long ago. Unfortunately, its next to impossible for her to learn the same way I learned because modern computers are so incredibly powerful that there are few constraints on what you can do. Back then, on a C64, I had 16 colors to work with. I had 8 sprites. I had 3 audio channels.