Close to buying but..

Hiya

I stumbled upon Codea on the app store, thought it looked very interesting so I’ve been looking it up on youtube.
I am close to buying (don’t normally pay more than £3 for any apps!!) but I have questions I’d like to know before I pay.

if you don’t mind

1: Can I create stand-alone games on my ipad? (I have no Mac, nor access to one. but can I like save out a finished game from codea and have it as a stand alone icon in my ipad or am I forever limited to running all my creations from within codea??

2: How user friendly is the language? I’m not a programmer but I have dabbled a little in years gone by, mainly in things like BBC Basic, AMOS and Atari 800XL Basic.

3: If I make a game I quite like, is it possible to send the game/code to my wife’s ipod touch so she can play it? That would be very cool indeed!

4: Is there any possibility of me damaging my ipad if I create some code thats so buggy it crashes the system? That is a little worrying. heh, like I said, I’m not a programmer just an interested amateur.

5: last buy not least, are you planning on having a sale in the next month or two? (Not that I’m cheap or begging, but I have been burnt badly very recently after buying several expensive apps that went on sale/free under 24 hours after I bought and that is so incredibly annoying.)

Thank you very much for the answers.

Paul

1. You can create just about any type of game you can think of provided you learn the language, but it will only run with Codea.

2. Lua isn’t that hard to learn. The more you put into learning the more you’ll get out of it. Learning another programming language is also part of the fun.

3. Any thing you create could only run on another device provided it has Codea on it.

4. As far as I know you can’t write anything that will damage your iPad. My iPad crashes and hangs a lot, but closing Codea or powering down the iPad clears it.