Chess in codea

Hi,

I’m new to codea and Lua, I’m hoping to develop a chess game using codea. I’d like to initially develop a very basic game that you can play between two humans. Then at some point I would like to try developing a chess AI. I’m also interested in making the game available to play online, I realise the last two are a lot more complex so just want to try designing a game that plays first.

There are several examples I’ve seen of chess games however I’m slightly lost in the code, and also I would like to try coding it myself. can anyone help in terms of starting points or some useful examples that might help me to understand how to start building this?

I have experience of c++, JavaScript, vb etc though starting from scratch with Lua.

I also wondered, can you transfer something you’ve built in codea into an app and how do you do this? Does it have to be put into x-code on a Mac?

Thanks
Andrew

For starters, you need to convert to x-code and I think it only works on a Mac.

As for the chess game, it should be kind of easy. The AI shouldn’t be too bad, but I don’t know how competitive it would be. Probably a lot harder to make it smarter.

@abeswick Here’s a start. Tap on a square to select it.

viewer.mode=FULLSCREEN

function setup() 
    size=math.min(WIDTH,HEIGHT)//10 
end

function draw()
    background(255, 207, 0)
    drawBoard()
end

function drawBoard()
    a=true
    for x=1,8 do
        a=not a
        for y=1,8 do
            a=not a
            fill(223, 149, 196)
            if a then
                fill(155, 220, 188)
            end
            if tx==x and ty==y then
                fill(255)
            end
            rect(x*size,y*size,size+1)
        end
    end
end

function touched(t)
    if t.state==BEGAN then
        for x=1,8 do
            for y=1,8 do
                if t.x>x*size and t.x<x*size+size and t.y>y*size and t.y<y*size+size then
                    tx=x
                    ty=y
                end