Camera and shaders

I’m new to shaders (using @Ignatz ever-excellent articles as a jump off point) and am trying to do a simple difference between two images. Here is the code, but I get an odd effect where the top image seems to switch between the current and an older (stale) image. I suspect this may be down to the CAMERA source rather than the shader but any pointers would be appreciated (including if you can replicate the issue). There also appears to be issues with initializing the camera but think I’ve got a workaround included.

To use tap on the screen to update one of the two pictures. The picture which updates switches between the top and bottom with each tap.

-- Camera Compare

-- Use this function to perform your initial setup
function setup()
    cameraSource(CAMERA_FRONT)
    --without the following line the program fails
    snap=image(CAMERA)
    frame={}
    frame[1]=image("Cargo Bot:Codea Icon") --dummy initial value - if you set to CAMERA you get an error
    frame[2]=image("Cargo Bot:Clear Button")

f=2
    m=mesh()
    m.shader=shader(DiffShader.vertexShader, DiffShader.fragmentShader)
    --allow user to set threshold level
    m.shader.thresh=0.2
    m.shader.texture=frame[1] --forehround
    m.shader.texture2=frame[2]--background
    u=m:addRect(3*WIDTH/4,HEIGHT/2,WIDTH/4,HEIGHT/4)
    m:setRectTex(u,0,0,1,1)
end

-- This function gets called once every frame
function draw()

-- This sets a dark background color
    background(44, 44, 117, 255)
    sprite(frame[1],WIDTH/4,3*HEIGHT/4,WIDTH/4, HEIGHT/4)
    sprite(frame[2],WIDTH/4,2*HEIGHT/4,WIDTH/4, HEIGHT/4)
    m.shader.texture=frame[1]
    m.shader.texture2=frame[2]
    m:draw()
end

function touched(t)
    if t.state==ENDED then
        takephoto(f)
        f=f+1
        if f>2 then f=1 end
    end
end

function takephoto(fin)
    frame[fin]=image(CAMERA)
end

--Difference shader - compare the rgb elements of two images and display the differences
DiffShader = {
vertexShader = [[
//