box2d world step / timestep (solved)

Hi all,

I’m a long-time programmer, but I’m new to Codea. I’m curious about whether the full functionality of box2d is implemented in Codea. In particular, I’m wondering if there is direct access to the world.step() function, but I’ll take any useful solution to the following problem:

I’d like to be able to run a physics simulation at a speed many time faster than 60 steps/second, either rendering every N steps, or not rendering at all. I’m not interested in altering frame rate, but rather the amount of simulated time that passes per frame. If possible, I’d like to compress time at a ratio of 1/1000 or better. Extreme accuracy in the simulation is not as important as raw speed.

I appreciate any insight anyone might be able to offer.

@skysaw - welcome! There are many here like you who come from other programming environments, myself included.

If you’re simply wanting to speed up time, so that the physics engine will behave as though it was running many times faster than real time, the first thing I’d try is multiplying the velocities by the compression ratio, eg by 1000. I’m not a physicist, but naively, it seems it might work. AFAIK, Box2D doesn’t have any fixed time elements that remain the same regardless of velocity, so altering velocity should speed up ‘time’.

Thanks Ignatz, though that’s not the answer I was hoping to hear. I have a feeling that trying to simulate it that way might be very messy, if it’s workable at all. Just a guess though, so I’m willing to try, unless someone has a better idea.

If there is no access to other box2d physics functions and variables, I wonder if anyone in the know can say whether that might be in the works for a future version of Codea?

To see what I’m talking about, take a look here: http://www.iforce2d.net/b2dtut/worlds – The step() function is being called explicitly with a length of time specified for the step