Better way of making my character move? (RPG)

I’m working on a little RPG. I’m quite a noob, so I’m just moving the character by changing the x and y values. like, x = x + 1 type thing. I bet there is a better way of doing this. I also want the character to be able to collide with buildings and people as well. How could I go about doing this? I also don’t want anything too complicated, because I’m a noob. I’m guessing I’ll have to use tweens, but I’m not sure how to go about using them. If there are other methods please list them! Thanks.

@1029chris .something like this ?:

http://www.twolivesleft.com/Codea/Talk/discussion/3791/couple-of-useful-tweens#Item_1

btw, this project is pretty old, I think it was one of the first I made for tweens understand

If you want the code … Here : http://pastebin.com/UVuQdPkF

@1029chris - there is nothing wrong with x=x+1, but you may want to put the movement into its own function to avoid spaghetti code. In other words, you could keep all the code together that handles player movement.

Tweens are ok if you want to get a player from a to b over a period of t seconds, but you need to think about what happens if the user interferes and changes direction before the tween has finished - so it can get a little complicated.

Personally, I use the x=x+1 method most of the time, rather than tweens.

As far as collisions are concerned, you need to keep a table in memory that stores the positions of everything. Think of it as a grid map, ie you divide your map into squares. Then, if there is a building, and your code for buildings was “b”, then you would put “b” in all the squares in your table that contain the building. Then, before moving your character, you look up the new position on the map and see if anything is already there.