Basic questions.

Hello,

Sorry to post again so soon, I hate filling your nice forums up with my trash but I have a couple of questions that I cannot seem to find the answer to and I know you guys will know.

1: Doesn’t redrawing the screen 60x a second make Codea very inefficient?

Example:- as I’m continuing to try and learn lua today I made myself a tiled background (floor if you like) to a possible game and it occurred to me that it seems a waste of power to redraw this 60x a second, why not draw it the once and only redraw sprites that move? (I apologise if its a dumb question)

2: use of = and ==

I did a lot of basic programming back in the 80’s and 90’s, mostly Atari, C64, ZX81, Amos basic type stuff and all of them used =. ie setting a variable was ‘let x=1’, using an ‘if’ was ‘if z=2 then…’ Whereas Codea seems to swap and change. From the guides I have been following it seems that some things use = and some use ==. as a beginner I am finding it hard to remember which is which and tbh it would be simpler if they used = for everything or == for everything or am I missing something?

3: To import my own graphics, do the images have to be a certain size or graphics format? or will it load anything, ie gif, jpg, png, 10x134, 103x34, 300x400?

@SteveNoob don’t worry at all about posting questions :slight_smile:

1 - Not necessarily (infact quite the opposite), the screen redrawing fast means you can achieve really smooth movements and animations. But your code can certainly affect the effeciency of this :slight_smile:

2 - They’re very different, = is the assignment operator and == is the equality operator .

-- assignment 
local var1 = 1
local var2 = 2

-- equality

local areEqual = var1 == var2

if areEqual == true then
print("equal")
else
print("not equal")
end

3 - Off the top of my head, size doesn’t matter too much although the is a hard limit but this is over 2000px so i wouldn’t worry.