Advice for writing an event driven and object oriented game?

So I’ve been coding for about 5 months in this language, and I think it’s time to try a larger project. I am planning on writing a game where you move as a simplistic character and alter your color to advance through logic puzzles. There will be 1 puzzle per room, and each puzzle will be different in objective, obsticals, and rules. I feel like i should write a different class per room, and that’d be the best way to do it. I’m also going to rewrite my code until it’s as efficient and as smooth and as organized as possible, no band aids because that’s the kinda stuff that comes back to haunt you.

But I’m curious as to advice you guys my have, specifically on how to write a 10-20thousand line event driven game and writing puzzles? Would I use counters for the phase that you’re on of the puzzle? Feedback greatly appreciated, but please don’t tell me to table this for several months. I’d love any constructive insights anyone could provide.

Thanks guys
Kirk

• event driven: use the event class posted somewhere ont the forum (or in codea showcase): it works wery well.
  • study cargobot button / panel / screen system: it works very well.
    That was my advice (although i dont make real games, and my programs stop at 5000 lines).

[edit] paragraph 1 of ignatz’s post below is a VERY. VERY valuable advice!

I think most professional advice (I am not a professional programmer, but I am channelling advice I have listened to) would be to compartmentalise everything you can. Break your code into tight classes and utility libraries, and test them thoroughly. Push tested libraries into separate tabs or even projects (and reference them into the main project). Also keep everything “loosely coupled”, so your game is as flexible as possible.