A different approach to buttons

I am a complete newbie to writing code, having only started with codea six or seven months ago. And having never even dabbled in programming before that. So if it seems presumptuous of me to attempt a tutorial type post I sincerely apologize, but a friend of mine urged me to do this, so here goes.
Early on I found some really great tutorials on buttons and basically it came down to

If touch.x > than button.x - size/2 and touch.x < button.x + size/2
Then repeat that for y.

Not really difficult but when you start to have multiple it can get cumbersome.

I did find that if you were dealing with round or square buttons you could do this;

Make your touch a vec2 so, tvec =vec2(touch.x,touch.y)

Then use that to get the distance between the touch and the button center, so;

tDist = tvec:dist(button)
If tDist < size/2 then do whatever your button does.

But you still have to write this out for every button.

So I came up with this and I guess I am asking if this makes sense and seems practical?

Full code here

https://gist.github.com/Circussmith/7450391

For the purposes of this type of button we will think of the screen as a grid. Ignatz does a great tutorial on tables were he describes how to set up a grid and then place stuff in it. For our purposes we won’t need to actually create a grid table, just think of the screen that way for now.

First I set up a table for all of the buttons. Then I set up the Boolean that determine if we do something or not. This is what the button will change in this simple example. Then I set up another one that we will use later to make sure the action doesn’t take place until after the button has been released.