image:copy Question

I’m taking a photo and copying a 500 x 500 pixel section out of the center of it. I’m having trouble with the parameters for image:copy. The documentation says that the Y parameter is “y location of the topmost pixels of the copy region” and that X is “location of the leftmost pixels of the copy region,” But, I can’t get the numbers to work out. I’m working from the center of the screen for everything except copy (as I can’t find a CENTER mode for it) and it seems the math should be simple. If I use HalfHeight - 250, I get somewhat better results. The commented out line will work but the numbers don’t seem related to anything.

The structure is a bit convoluted as I want to pull the appropriate functions to put into a game that I’m working on and because I’m a newbie. Many thanks in advance!

-- TakePhoto

displayMode(FULLSCREEN)

function setup()
    PhotoSetup()
end

function PhotoSetup()
    rectMode( CENTER )
    spriteMode( CENTER )
    textMode( CENTER )
    cameraSource( CAMERA_FRONT )
    HalfWidth = WIDTH * .5
    HalfHeight = HEIGHT * .5
    Status = "Posing"    
end

function PosePhoto()
        sprite( CAMERA, HalfWidth, HalfHeight ) -- Show what's on camera 
        noFill()
        strokeWidth( 5 )
        rect( HalfWidth, HalfHeight, 500, 500 )  -- Create frame
        fill ( 0 )
        rect ( HalfWidth, HEIGHT - 50, WIDTH, 100 ) -- Box for instruction
        fill( 255 )
        fontSize ( 24 )
        text( "Center your face in the frame and tap the screen to take your photo.", HalfWidth, HEIGHT - 50 )
end

function TakePhoto()
    Photo = image( CAMERA ) -- Take Photo
    CroppedPhoto = Photo:copy( HalfWidth - 250, HalfHeight + 250, 500, 500 ) 
--    CroppedPhoto = Photo:copy( HalfWidth - 100, HalfHeight - 280, 500, 500 )
end

function draw() 
    background( 40, 40, 50 )
    if Status == "Posing" then
        PosePhoto()
    elseif Status == "ShowPhoto" then
        sprite ( CroppedPhoto, HalfWidth, HalfHeight )
    end
end