Efficiency

As a general question, what ways are there to make a program more efficient and faster?
(Things like using readImage() rather than loading the image every frame)

@Coder You’re asking us to put a whole book into a few lines of information. No matter what someone does, there is probably somebody else who can make it better, faster, and smaller. A lot of that comes from experience and how well you know the particular language you’re using.

EDIT: I’ve been using Codea (lua) for almost 2 years and there’s still a lot of the language that I’m not that familiar with. It takes a long time and a lot of coding to learn everything.

@dave1707 thanks. I will try and read up on it.

@Coder You’ll probably get more responses on you question. I just feel it’s a really broad question.

try to google the question. There are some answers on the web and into this forum too.

I agree with @dave1707 that you could write a book about this, but at the same time I feel someone new could use quick tips on things that may seem obvious to the experienced coder. Those can be easily put into bullet points. Here is my first bullet, I invite all of you to add more to the list!

1. If you are doing math, local variables are WAY FASTER! Always use:
local x = ...

instead of

x = ...

You can do the same with the math functions and constants:

local pi = math.pi
local atan2 = math.atan2
local sqrt = math.sqrt
local rad2deg = 180/pi
local x, y, length, theta
for i = 1,N do
  x = someTable[i].x
  y = someTable[i].y
  length = sqrt(x*x+y*y)
  theta = (atan2(y,x))*rad2deg
end

There are a ton of resources out there to help you with speeding up Lua’s performance but no so much Codea’s. Unfortunately these next few examples are Lua tips i picked up along the way and only two of them specifically applies to Codea.

####1.1 Styling functions

function setup()
    ages = {24, 26, 1000}
end

function draw()
    background(123, 213, 31)
    fill(255, 255, 0)
    fontSize(20)