Want to learn about shaders? - new ebook

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/mr2yzp07vffskxt/AACqVnmzpAKOkNDWENPmN4psa

It has a code project that goes with it, with about 10 example shaders (link in the ebook)

If you know something about meshes, you should be able to understand it, but it’s not for complete beginners

Looks Good,
Thanks for uploading @Ignatz

Ahh… On page 6 right now on my iPhone. So far it’s clearing up the basics of shaders. I think this is just that one resource I needed to get a grasp on shaders.
Thanks a ton!

If it’s useful, I’ll follow up with one on lighting shaders…

Nice work Ignatz. Read till the part before the examples and I feel much better about shaders now.

I had tried learning shaders before, through your tutorials, but maybe it was too early at that time.

@Ignatz, Looks great! I love the bit where you say fader shader, it just has such an awesome ring to it! I feel like I knew the majority of it, but I learnt a few things here and there! It’s a great resource!

Sounds promising, I’ll definitely read it!

@Ignatz good read thanks, learnt what other beginner tutorials miss, a good ‘explanation’ of the pipeline and a good view of the vertex shader, good work!

Thank you @Luatee. :">

It’s a shame there aren’t more easy tutorials for this kind of thing anywhere on the internet (that I could find, anyway - I would have saved myself a lot of time if I had found some!)

Thanks @ignatz =D>

=D> =D> =D> =D>

Wow, very nice! I actually understand shaders now!

@Andrew_Stacey - good post sir!

I’m particularly interested in your last point. I guess you’re implying that mathematically you can simplify a set of conditionals to an elegant mathematical solution? (e.g. setting limits and ranges etc…).

Out of curiosity, can you give us a few examples?

Nice, though naturally I missed the matrices …

Comments:

p1 You can’t change the position of a pixel in a fragment shader. You can change its texture coordinate.