Using table.insert() on properties of objects

I’m sure it’s something rather simple, but so far, I haven’t been able to find out what makes stuff don’t work, so I decided to ask. (I’m new with Lua)

my code in the setup section:

body=mesh()
    body.vertices={}
    v=vec3(1,2,3)
    table.insert(body.vertices,v)
    print(#body.vertices)

And it prints 0.

So, any help is appreciated, but may I ask you to try out your suggested fix prior posting? Thank you in advance.

A mesh is a special object and its vertices aren’t really a lua table. When you do body.vertices = {table of vertices} then there’s a bit of magic going on underneath that does the actual assignment. You can emulate this by using the vertex method to set a vertex. To do this, you need to keep track of the number of vertices in your mesh and you need to periodically resize the mesh.

(Incidentally, make sure you insert vertices in threes)

My generic addQuad method does this:

function addQuad(t)
    local m = t.mesh
    local n = t.position or 0
    if n > m.size - 12 then
        m:resize(n + 300)
    end
    local v = t.vertices
    for k,l in ipairs({1,2,3,2,3,4}) do
        m:vertex(n+k,v[l][1])
        if v[l][2] then
            m:color(n+k,v[l][2])
        end
        if v[l][3] then
            m:texCoord(n+k,v[l][3])
        end
    end
    return n + 6
end

The input to the routine is a table which specifies a mesh and a table of four vertices. These vertices are then added to the mesh with the effect of adding a quadrilateral with those vertices as the corners. They are optionally coloured.