Understanding the Gravity example

Hi I’m very new to lua and game development.
I wonder if someone could help me with understanding what is happening in the gravity example code
I’m trying to write some code that moves a sprite about on the screen depending on how the user moves the iPad
The same as the way in which dungeon roller moves the hero about the screen.

I,d appreciate if someone could paste and comment the gravity example code so that it explains what each line is doing
I have tried looking elsewhere to try and understand each command such as popmatrix() etc but could not find an explanation.

I’m really enjoying getting to know lua but Ido think it would help for us noobies if the example codes where commented in much more detail. Thanks in advance

Here are the guts of the gravity example:

pushMatrix()

translate(WIDTH/2, HEIGHT/2)
    grav = vec2(Gravity.x * 300, Gravity.y * 300)
    line(0, 0, grav.x, grav.y)

-- Arrowhead
    down = vec2(1, 0)
    orient = down:angleBetween(grav)

pushMatrix()
    resetMatrix()

translate(WIDTH/2,HEIGHT/2)
    translate(grav.x,grav.y)
    rotate(math.deg(orient))

line(0, 0, -25, -20)
    line(0, 0, -25,  20)    

popMatrix()

The first pushmatrix() saves the current state of translate/rotate/scale so we can come back to it later with popmatrix() It’s not necessary in the demo, but it’s good practice if you expect your code to be reused - it lets you clean up after yourself, and by writing code with transform/rotate/scale you can avoid what can turn into some very nasty math.

A note: The complexity here comes from needing to be able to calculate the rotation for the arrow head - if you just wanted to draw a line, the x and y from gravity is enough.

Anyway - the next line saves gravity.x and y as a vector. The line after draws the shaft of the arrow.