the python in codea (in lua)

hello,
im pretty new to codea (its soo great!) and i pretty much know my way around programming.
im coming from the pythonn language and i was thinking that its too bad that lua doesn’t have the dir() help() etc. function python has for every object

now i realize in lua not EVERTHING is an object like in python, but i came across a need to implicate a special iterable for my class or wanted to know which functions are avalable in the table class (without having to go to the manuals)

are those possible in lua or more specific in codea?

Hi @shachaf,

in fact, lua does not have classes at all. The class() function provided by codea is an add-on. table is not a class but in fact the only compound data structure available in lua. I suggest you don’t avoid reading the manual, it is really concise and has a nice overview of the functions. If I understand correctly what you want, you are probably looking for pairs() or ipairs().

im not avoiding from reading the manual, in fact i think its quite good
i guess im just used to python too much.

i had problems with the table.remove function (i didnt want to just “= nil”) so i decided to wrap table in my own class, but then i couldn’t iter it.

but i guess im just used to a different language (if you say lua doesn’t have classes even)

by the way, sorry for postting in the general, forgot to set it up to Questions

Well, you can make your own iterator function, for example:

t = {'a', 'b', 'c'}

function iter(tbl)
  local i = 0
  return function()
    i = i + 1
    return tbl[i]
  end
end

for i in iter(t) do
  print(i)
end

Some nitpicking: Not absolutely everything is a class in Python, plain numbers are plain numbers, so for example "1. _ _ doc _ _ " doesn’t work (you have to write "(1). _ _ doc _ _ ").

Apart from that, there’s a lot of imperative programming going on in Python, so you will not suffer from a total paradigm clash when using Lua.