Tap screen to shoot?

Hi people of the codea world, I was wondering if you could share A code that makes A sprite shoot one bullet when the screen is tapped one time. I am new to video game programming, sorry.

Have a look at the examples that come with Codea.
However what you need to do is create a function called touched and then check the state of the touch parameter that’s passed and then when the state = BEGAN fire your bullet.

e.g.

-- Codea calls this function for each and every touch event
function touched(t)
   if t.state == BEGAN then
      print("Bang!") -- add your fire bullet code here.
   end
end

Also check out the touch overview in the built in documentation (http://twolivesleft.com/Codea/Reference/Touch.html)

@The_Waffle_Man Here’s a very simple example.

displayMode(FULLSCREEN)

function setup()
    dx=0
    dy=0
    x=WIDTH/2
    y=HEIGHT/2
end

function draw()
    background(40, 40, 50)
    sprite("Tyrian Remastered:Eye Small",x,y)   
    sprite("Tyrian Remastered:Eye Mecha",WIDTH/2,HEIGHT/2)
    x=x+dx
    y=y+dy 
end

function touched(t)
    if t.state==BEGAN then
        x=WIDTH/2
        y=HEIGHT/2
        dx=1
        dy=2
    end
end

Thank you guys for the feedback! I will try to build on these codes.

In which direction would you like the bullet to be firing? If you tell me what kind of game you are making I can probably help :smiley:

I would like for the bullet to shoot straight up. Basically the game is a vertical slider,where the ship freely slides around the screen When you tilt the device(the ship always faces and will shoot up, like in the super old space-like game " Galaga"). You tap the screen once to shoot at randomy generated downward moving sprites such as astroids or other ships to earn points. The game doesn’t end. It’s all about being your highest score. Like that terribly addicting game flappy birds, lol.