super-basic questions about using Codea

I got Codea a week ago and have been having a lot of fun. I have very little programming experience (just a wee bit of BASIC and Pascal about 30 years ago) and no experience with modern development environments. The tutorials and sample code here and on the wiki have been great – thank you!! – and I’m successfully playing with drawing to the screen, variables, functions, and loops.

Now I feel ready to “take the next step” and I’m feeling lost. I see a plus sign that will let me “Create a New Class”, but I don’t really know what a new class is, what I would do with one, or how I would link it to my Main program. I see awesome font libraries posted, but I don’t know how to access a library from my code. And if there’s a way to import or export code other than copy/paste into email, I’d love to know it.

I’ve read the wiki and the FAQ and many of these discussions, and most if it goes over my head but often I pick up just enough to realize some of the terrible mistakes I’ve made in my code (and ripping it all apart and rewriting it repeatedly has been probably the best learning experience for me!). The tutorials were awesome, but when I reached the ones with tempting-sounding names that lead to blank pages, my heart broke a little bit.

I’m willing to hunker down and get serious about studying a lua tutorial, but I’m still not sure where to go to learn the basics of how to use Codea itself. I know my questions are about things that are easy and obvious to those who have used other development environments (probably akin to someone staring at a drawing program and asking “what the heck does that paintbrush-shaped tool do?”), and I apologize if my questions are too remedial for this forum.

That said…can anyone point me to somewhere that I can learn some of these basics, so that I can access more of the potential of Codea?

A friend sent me a link to this free online book about Lua programming in general:

http://www.lua.org/pil/