Some questions from a new Codea user

I am new to Codea and just trying to get a few simple things going and having difficulties. I put together a small app that records the time when you tap the screen and then plots the data afterwards, very vanilla compared to some of the things I’ve seen on this forum. Here are some observations/questions:

• Touch events don’t have timestamps on them. In particular, I couldn’t tell how long I had touched the screen. MOVING wasn’t documented as working for stationary touches.
  • There was no way to get the current date/time. (os.time provides this now?)
  • writeProjectData is documented as able to save any value. No–it only saves a number or a string. I needed to save an array of strings. In general, de/serialization of any reasonable data structure should be possible. So I had to concatenate everything into a big string which will then need parsing.

Now I’m trying to display the data that was created.

• Parsing the string isn’t working. Maybe string.gmatch patterns don’t work like I expect? I thought the pattern “(%d-):(%d-),?” could get the time values out of a string like “2:30, 2:45, 2:55”, but only the minute is extracted from each of the 3 time values. With the “?” omitted, the minute and second values are extracted for the first 2 time values and the third is ignored. How do I write this pattern?