[Solved]How do you do top-down field of vision for enemies?

I’m making a top-down stealth game and I want to code in “field of vision” for an enemy. I would like the enemy to ignore the player whilst not in the enemy’s field of vision and charge at the player if in the field of vision. I’d also like to be able to conveniently edit how big the field of vision is. Here is my code for the enemy so far; it makes the enemy look at the player:

Enemy1 = class()

function Enemy1:init(E1X,E1Y,E1D)
    -- you can accept and set parameters here
    self.x = E1X
    self.y = E1Y
    self.d = E1D
end
function Enemy1:draw()
    if math.sqrt(((ninjaX-E1X)^2)+((ninjaY-E1Y)^2)) < 100 then
    E1D = math.atan(ninjaY-E1Y,ninjaX-E1X)

end
    pushMatrix()
    translate(E1X,E1Y)
    rotate(math.deg(E1D))
    sprite("Project:Enemy")
    popMatrix()
end

I’ve tried counless times to code field of vision into my game, but I have had no luck with my knowledge of codea.
Can I have some help please? Thank you in advance.
Btw, ninjaX = X position of the player. ninjaY = Y postion of the player.

@PlatinumFrog -

First, it’s probably faster to code the relative positions as vec2, eg self.pos=vec2(E1X,E1Y), similarly for (say) ninjaPos, then you can calculate distance between them as self.pos:dist(ninjaPos)

Second, by field of vision, do you simply mean distance, or do you mean allowing for things that may block the enemy’s vision? You appear to be just using distance.

In that case, I think you might want this for E1D (the angle needs to be negative because rotations are anti clockwise in Codea)

E1D =  math.atan(-(ninjaX-E1X1),(ninjaY-E1Y))
--or if you're using vec2 as I suggested
local v = ninjaPos - self.pos
E1D = math.atan(-v.x,v.y)